top of page

Christmas Beyond Consumption

Updated: Dec 20, 2021

The Christmas period fills me with happiness. I am unashamed to say I always look forward to the glowing window displays, bustling markets and iconic John Lewis advert. I am lucky enough to have many a happy childhood memory of Christmas periods spent with family, sharing food and gifts. Although, I have come to realise that Christmas truly has become increasingly centred around consumption. As much as I love the warm lights of the Christmassy shop windows, I am troubled by how this temptation to consume enters our high streets earlier and earlier each year. Halloween is over and once this has been commodified as much as possible, the focus shifts to the next money-making season. It seems important to reflect on this and critique the way that Christmas has become more and more about extravagant gifts. I feel that giving is a wonderful way for us to connect, however I have realised that the best gifts are the ones that hold meaning and sentimentality, as opposed to the biggest, or most expensive.


When I was young, it was always so exciting to discover that huge present under the tree had your name on it. But now I am most excited about the thought of catching up with family and friends, all those who I love, reminiscing and reflecting on the year that has passed. There is always a sense of déjà vu around this time of year, and yet, growing up is realising why this time feels so special. Life is chaotic and so face-paced. Sometimes I feel like I have lost track of everyone around me and their own complex busy lives. But life is also short. And to chat to family, grandparents, cousins, sisters, brothers is to slow it down, just for a little while. To realise what’s truly significant and how the best presents come in the smallest packages.


Perhaps the most valuable gifts are the unique vintage clothing pieces or antiques, cheaper charity shop gems, or the handcrafted candles and ornaments you see in local independent gift shops. Personal gifts. When you see that one item and a particular person comes straight into your mind, that’s the best find. Or experiences that you give to people, concert tickets or exhibitions, the gift of memories yet to be made. I feel as if, after the past couple of years we have had, with the unpredictable restrictions, to be together and present is the most valuable thing we can give and receive, in person, over video call or the phone. So this Christmas I encourage you to indulge in each other’s company and the privilege of the simple things we have. Hope you have a safe and Merry Christmas!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page